Skip directly to content

Statewide Technical Assistance And Resources Team (START)

Statewide Technical Assistance & Resources Team (START)

Together families can make a difference

The START Project offers programs and services that support the engagement of families to improve outcomes for students. Assistance is available for developing and implementing parent groups in your school and community.

   

 
 
 
 

Literacy Strategies for Families 

Disproportionality Resources

For information on our activities, contact:

Project Director, Karen Antone  kantone@spannj.org

Project Coordinator, Michele Tyler, mtyler@spannj.org

South
Debbie Esposito, desposito@spannj.org  Burlington, Camden, Gloucester
Tatsiana DaGrosatdagrosa@spannj.org  Atlantic, Cape May, Cumberland, Salem

Central
Karen Antone, kantone@spannj.org  Ocean, Monmouth, Middlesex 
Monique Dujue Wilson mdujue@spannj.org  Hunterdon, Somerset, Mercer 

North
Myriam Alizo, malizo@spannj.org  Union, Bergen, Essex, Hudson
Brenda Figueroa, bfigueroa@spannj.org  Passiac, Morris, Sussex, Warren 

Disproportionality Specialist
Michele Tylermtyler@spannj.org

START Project
start@spannj.org
973-642-8100 ext. 123
What families/professions are saying about this project: 

“A strong parent advisory group can help foster ongoing communication between the parents and school to better serve our children.”

“The Inclusion Mini-Conference was great. Thought provoking, good information; very relevant.”

“The advice that parents need to continually talk with school district personnel and develop meaningful inclusion programs and then continually evaluate their childrens’ progress based on data was on the mark.”

Key Resources of Interest: 

START Project Resources include:

Other Resources:

Staff: 

Meet the START Project's Staff

 

 

SPAN's START Project is funded through a Cooperative Agreement with the New Jersey Department of Education, Office of Special Education.