Skip directly to content

Statewide Technical Assistance And Resources Team (START)

Statewide Technical Assistance & Resources Team (START)

Together families can make a difference

The START Project offers programs and services that support the engagement of families receiving special education services to improve outcomes for students. Assistance is available for developing and implementing parent groups in your school and community.

 

STARTing and Running Parent Groups click here to find and list a new parent group
 
 

Families CAN Make A Difference - Power Point, Tools, Handouts & Resources from Workshop Session

Resources from the 2014 Inclusion Conference for Families Inclusion Works: Improving Literacy Achievement

For information on our activities, contact:

Project Director, Dianne Malley, dmalley@spannj.org

South - Michele Tyler, mtyler@spannj.org for Burlington, Camden & Gloucester Counties

Tatsiana DaGrosa, tdagrosa@spannj.org for Atlantic, CapeMay, Cumberland and  Salem Counties

Central - Karen Antone, kantone@spannj.org

North - Myriam Alizo, malizo@spannj.org and Monique Dujue Wilson mdujue@spannj.org

Multi-Cultural Specialist - Cecilia Raubertas, craubertas@spannj.org

 

START Project
start@spannj.org
973-642-8100 ext. 123
What families/professions are saying about this project: 

“A strong parent advisory group can help foster ongoing communication between the parents and school to better serve our children.”

“The Inclusion Mini-Conference was great. Thought provoking, good information; very relevant.”

“The advice that parents need to continually talk with school district personnel and develop meaningful inclusion programs and then continually evaluate their childrens’ progress based on data was on the mark.”

Key Resources of Interest: 

START Project Resources include:

Other Resources:

Staff: 

Meet the START Project's Staff

 

 

SPAN's START Project is funded through a Cooperative Agreement with the New Jersey Department of Education, Office of Special Education.